About Me

profile picMatthew Rule
I am a BSc Computer Science student at Plymouth University, UK (2011-16). I would soon like to move on to a career in application development and learn something new. This site showcases some of my academic and personal projects, listed on this page. Some are available for download either as source or as an executable. You can contact me by email using the address below.

Skillset

I have plenty of experience with some popular programming languages (C++, C#, Java, Python). I also know some web-based development, having worked with Javascript, SQL and ASP.net. I am familiar with good coding practice, design patterns and Agile development techniques.

My degree has involved plenty of group work and I fully respect the value that other people can bring with them.

I would say my strongest skills involve coding for graphical applications using cross-platform APIs. I am familiar with linking together a large number of systems together and spending weeks of consistent work refactoring where necessary to make sure the fundamentals of a project work before seeing any tangible progress.

I also have some experience programming neural networks which I gained during a placement year at my university. This portfolio hopefully shows that I am a motivated, investigative person.

Bio

I wanted to work in conservation/ecology when I was younger, and so I have a National Diploma in Countryside Management (studied 2008-2010 at Duchy College) and an NVQ level 2 in Work-based Environmental Conservation.

However during this course, at home, I would start to spend every hour I could on programming. This is where some of my “hobbyist” projects originated. I learned Delphi then C++ and OpenGL under my own steam but soon got an idea of the workload required to make a game professionally. Applications are typically produced by development teams and not lone individuals. This is for a good reason, because the complexity of a project can quickly balloon when you properly consider what its development involves.

So how do you get into programming professionally? A degree is more or less essential. Computer science degrees are favoured for the system-level, technical work. Following the advice of my college course manager I found a degree with a foundation year at Plymouth and this is what I am now finishing.

Due to my interest in artificial intelligence, in 2013-14 I completed a work placement as a research assistant for the Centre for Robotics and Neural Systems at Plymouth University. I also did some reference compiling for an MIT Press book titled “Developmental Robotics: From Babies to Robots” by Angelo Cangelosi and Matthew Schlesinger. Those I met during this year were the most friendly and polite people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting.

So hopefully all this is leading up to a long and fruitful career in software development! If you’re interested in my work take a look at the project list on this page.

I am happy to answer any questions and critique of this page is welcome. You can contact me at:

email

(The address is in an image to help avoid automated mail)

Leave some feedback!

